Bring on the Silent Discos!

silent-disco-madison-wisconsinA few weeks ago, Zach and I went out to dinner with some friends at Red Sushi (which if you haven’t been there, you should go. Like now.). Afterwards we decided to wander down State Street to grab a few drinks and we looked over and saw all these people dancing, but there was no music. I was really confused until I realized they were wearing headphones. Just then, a guy came up to us and handed us each a pair of headphones and told us to join the party.

There were two DJs spinning in the front of this small crowd of people, and you were able to switch between two stations to listen to them through your headphones. So, all the people who looked like they were dancing in silence, were actually jamming out to these live DJs!

What are Silent Discos?

Silent Discos, as these are now called, are not exactly a new phenomenon, but the actual term “silent disco” was coined in 2011. Various bands/festivals have held headphone concerts. In the event we stumbled upon was more of a “mobile clubbing” event where a group of people gather in an unconventional location to dance to music they hear through headphones. The two DJs who were performing live were competing for the audience to listen to their stations.

This is apparently also popular at universities. Shortly after I experienced my first silent disco, I saw this YouTube video of UW-Madison students having a silent disco in the library during finals week. Love it!

I’m not sure if I’m just old, and am the only person who had never heard of these, but I found it incredibly fun and spontaneous to have a random dance party. I mean, I have them in the privacy of my home all the time, but it’s fun to share with others too!

The problem is, I haven’t been able to find many websites that share when and where you can find silent discos in your area. Anyone have any suggestions?

-Sara

2 thoughts on “Bring on the Silent Discos!

Leave a Reply

